Financial Bodies and its Regulators

1. Money Market – RBI (Reserve bank of India)

Governor – Mr. Urjit patel

Headquarter – Mumbai

2. Capital Market SEBI (Security Exchange Board of India)

Chairman – Mr. Ajay Tyagi

Headquarter – Mumbai

3. Insurance companies –IRDAI (Insurance regulatory Development authority of India)

Chairman – Mr.TS Vijayan

Headquarter – Hyderabad

4. Commodity Market FMC (Forward Market Commission)

It is now being merged in SEBI

Chairman – Mr.Ramesh Abhishek

Headquarter – Mumbai

5. Chit Funds – Respective State Governments

6. Merchant Banking companies – SEBI

7. Foreign Exchange or Forex Market – RBI

8. Housing Finance Companies – NHB (National Housing Bank)

Chairman – Mr.Shri Ram Kalyanraman

Headquarter – New Delhi

9. Venture Capital Fund – SEBI

10. Stock broking companies – SEBI

11. Nidhi Companies – Ministry of corporate affairs, Government of India

12. Cooperative banks and RRBs NABARD (National Bank for agriculture and Rural Development)

Chairman – Dr. Harsh Kumar Bhanwala

Headquarter – Mumbai

13. Micro-Finance Regulatory Authority NABARD

14. Algorithmic Trading SEBI

15. Pension fund PFRDA (Pension fund regulatory and Development authority)

Chairman – Hemant Contractor

Headquarter – New Delhi

16. Credit Rating agencies – SEBI

17. Public health & Food Safety – FSSAI (Foods safety and Standards Authority of India)

Chairperson – Ashish Bahuguna

Headquarter – New Delhi

18. Telecommunication Business – TRAI (Telecom Regulatory Authority of India)

Chairman – Ram sewak Sharma

Headquarter – New Delhi

19. Civil Aviation DGCA (Directorate general of civil aviation)

Chairperson – M sathyavathy

Regulator – The Government of India

Headquarter – New Delhi

20. Financial Audit and Accounting Professions ICAI (Institute of chartered accounts in India)

Headquarter – New Delhi