• The nation marked the 100th birthday of the Rs 1 note on November 30.One rupee note is Introduced First on November 30, 1917.

History of 1 rupee note:

  • The first Rs 1 note was printed in England with a photo of King George V on it.
  • The first note had the signature of three British finance secretaries — MMS Gubbay, AC McWatters and H Denning and every note is signed by the finance secretary, including 18 since Independence
  • This note, along with other small-value notes such as the exotic Rs 2 and eight annas were discontinued on January 1, 1926, on cost-benefit considerations.
  • After the establishment of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in 1935, the rupee, including the Rs 1 note, started becoming the fiat currency of the nation.
  • The rupee started getting printed in India only after the Security Press and Currency Note Presswas established in Nasik, Maharashtra, in 1928.
  • In 1940, the Rs 1 note was re-introduced with the status of a rupee coin. The note had the image of a rupee coin with a photo of King George VI.
  • While all other notes have theRBI governor’s signature, the Rs 1 note is signed by the finance secretary as a testimony.
  • After Independence, Independent India’s first Rs 1 note was printed in 1949 with the Lion Capitol of the Ashoka Pillar.
  • The note was signed by India’s first Finance SecretaryR K Shanmukham Chetty.

Specification of 1Rupee note:

  • As detailed by the RBI notification, the colour of the Re 1 note shall be predominantly pink-green on both sides, with some other colours infused into the design as well. The dimensions of the new rectangular note will be 7 x 6.3 cm, and 110 microns in thickness.
  • The note bears the bilingual signature of Shri Shaktikanta Das, Secretary, Ministry of Finance, and has a picture of the new Re 1 coin with the ‘₹’ symbol of 2017 issued with ‘Sathyameva Jayathe’ and capital letter ‘L’ in the numbering panel. The numbering will be in black, in the bottom right portion of the note, in ascending order of numon erals from left to right, while the first three alphanumeric characters (prefix) shall remain constant in size.
  • The flip or reverse side shall contain the words ‘Bharat Sarkar’above the words ‘Government of India’ too, with the year 2017, and the representation of Re 1 coin, with the ₹ symbol and its floral design. Surrounding that will be a picture of Sagar Samrat, the oil exploration platform, and an authentic rendering of the value in 15 Indian languages in the language panel, with the year figure shown in the bottom central portion.

click here for chabahar port