Dear Banking Aspirant,

The cabinet has seen some drastic changes in last week before the Prime Minister went to the BRICS Summit in China. There are key changes in the cabinet and many were in for an awe when they heard non-politicians in the cabinet berth. This is the third time, the cabinet has been reshuffled and it is very important for every aspirant to know the changes in the cabinet because the changes in the cabinet may be even in the questions in the forthcoming exams. So it is wise to know the changes in the portfolio and the changes in the cabinet to excel the questions in the exams.

Key Takeaways from the Cabinet Reshuffle 

  • 4 Preforming Ministers were elevated to the Cabinet Level Ministries 
  • 9 New faces were inducted into the Cabinet
  • 6 Ministers were demoted
  • There were no new faces from the allies of NDA like JD(U) & other allies
  • 2 Non-Politicians were given Cabinet berth
  • Nirmala Seetharaman is the perfect gainer as she is appointed as the first woman Defence Minister with Exclusive Charge.(Previously Indira Gandhi held the Defence Ministry in her Portfolio when she was the Prime Minister ).
  • Vijay Goel has been made as the Junior minister for Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics and Programme Implementation, the first reduction in rank of ministers for him.


  • Suresh Prabhu – Commerce and Industry, Railways
  • Uma Bharati – Drinking Water and Sanitation, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
  • Narendra Singh Tomar – Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Mines, Drinking Water and Sanitation, Housing and Urban Affairs
  • Dharmendra Pradhan – Petroleum and Natural Gas, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
  • Piyush Goyal – Railways, Coal
  • Nirmala Sitharaman – Defence
  • Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi – Minority Affairs, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Arun Jaitley – Finance, Corporate Affairs, Defence
  • Nitin Gadkari – Road Transport and Highways, Shipping, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation


  • Rao Inderjit Singh – Planning (Independent Charge), Chemicals and Fertilizers, Housing and Urban Affairs
  • Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore – Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge), Information and Broadcasting
  • Giriraj Singh – Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (Independent Charge)
  • Santosh Kumar Gangwar – Labour and Employment (Independent Charge), Finance
  • Alphons Kannanthanam – Ministry of Tourism (Independent Charge), Electronics and Information Technology
  • Raj Kumar Singh – Power (Independent Charge), New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)
  • Hardeep Singh Puri – Housing and Urban Affairs (Independent Charge)


  • Vijay Goel – Parliamentary Affairs, Statistics and Programme Implementation
  • Radhakrishnan P – Road Transport and Highways, Shipping, Finance
  • SS Ahluwalia – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Parliamentary Affairs, Drinking Water and Sanitation
  • Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary – Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Mines, Coal
  • Shiv Pratap Shukla – Finance
  • Ashwini Kumar Choubey – Health and Family Welfare
  • Gajendra Singh Shekhawat – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
  • Virendra Kumar – Women and Child Development, Minority Affairs
  • Anantkumar Hegde – Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
  • Satya Pal Singh – Human Resource Development, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
  • Sudarshan Bhagat – Tribal Affairs, Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
  • Arjun Ram Meghwal – Parliamentary Affairs, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Finance, Corporate Affairs
  • Krishna Raj – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Women and Child Development
  • CR Chaudhary – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Commerce and Industry
  • PP Chaudhary – Law and Justice, Corporate Affairs, Electronics and Information Technology

NOTE : The above list is the changes happened in the recent shuffle and also please note that the words in bold letters indicate the change in the status of the portfolio of the respective ministers in a cabinet or independent charges. The words that are stricken depicts that the portfolios are no longer with the respective ministers or they are not a minister for that portfolio any longer.

Also some of the ministers have resigned their portfolios paving way for others to take charge they are Faggan Singh Kulaste (Minister of State of Health and Family Welfare) , Sanjeev Kumar Balyan (Minister of State of Water Resources , River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation) , Mahendra Nath Pandey (Minister of State of Human Resource Development ) and Bandaru Dattatreya (Minister of State for Labour and Employment (Independent Charge) ) and also Kalraj Mishra (Cabinet Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises)


Learn more about the other latest news in the Current Affairs Section in our blog :