Commonwealth Games 2018 : Complete List of Winners from India

Dear Bankersdaily Aspirants,

The 2018 Commonwealth Games, officially known as the XXI Commonwealth Games and commonly known as Gold Coast 2018, were held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia, between 4 and 15 April 2018. The specialty of the event is that Australia is hosting the Commonwealth Games for the Fifth time and this is the first time a major multi sport event achieved gender equality by having an equal number of male and female athletes.

  • Total Number of Countries Participated : 71
  • Maldives were initially enrolled but later withdrew and Gambia was readmitted as a Commonwealth Games Federation member on 31 March 2018.
  • Totally 26 sports were included in the schedule of Commonwealth Games 2018.
  • MOTTO of CWG 2018 : “Share the Dream”
  • MASCOT Name : Borobi
  • INDIA’s Flag Bearer – Opening Ceremony – P.V.Sindhu
  • INDIA’s Flag Bearer – Closing Ceremony – Mary Kom

  • Borobi was the official mascot of the 2018 Commonwealth Games, which was held in Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.
  • Borobi was a male Koala with blue fur and unusual markings on his paws (which are designed by Aboriginal artist, Chern’ee Sutton).
  • The name Borobi is derived from a dialect used by the Yugambeh people, an indigenous Australian group from the Gold Coast region.
  • The mascot, along with its fictional back story, was revealed in April 2016. Borobi is based on a character submitted by Merrilyn Krohn, the winner of the GC2018 Mascot Design Competition.

The 2022 Commonwealth Games will take place in the City of Birmingham, England. That will be the third time, England is hosting the Commonwealth Games. At first Durban was initially selected to host the tests but later Durban withdrew it’s nomination for the commonwealth Games due to financial crisis.

Theme of 2022 Birmingham CWG : Heart of the UK, Soul of the Commonwealth


Players Event Medal
Neeraj Chopra Men’s Javelin Throw GOLD
Seema Punia Women’s Discus Throw SILVER
Navjeet Dhillon Women’s Discus Throw BRONZE


Players Event Medal
Saina, Sindhu, Srikanth, Prannoy, Ruthvika, Ashwini, Sikki, Satwik, Pranaav, Chirag Mixed Team GOLD
Saina Nehwal Women’s Singles GOLD
P V Sindhu Women’s Singles SILVER
K Srikanth Men’s singles SILVER
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty Men’s doubles SILVER
Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy Women’s doubles BRONZE


Players Event Medal
Mary Kom Women’s 46-48 kg GOLD
Vikas Krishan Men’s 75 kg GOLD
Gaurav Solanki Men’s 52 kg GOLD
Satish Kumar Men’s 91 kg SILVER
Amit Phangal Men’s 46-49 kg SILVER
Manish Kaushik Men’s 60 kg SILVER
Naman Tanwar Men’s 81 kg BRONZE
Manoj Kumar Men’s 69 kg BRONZE
Hussamuddin Muhammad Men’s 91 kg BRONZE

Para Powerlifting

Player Event MEDAL
Sachin Chaudhary Men’s Heavyweight BRONZE


Player Event Medal
Anish Bhanwala Men’s 25m rapid fire pistol GOLD
Manu Bhaker Women’s 10m air pistol GOLD
Shreyasi Singh Women’s double trap GOLD
Jitu Rai Men’s 10m air pistol GOLD
Sanjeev Rajput Men’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions GOLD
Tejaswini Sawant Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions GOLD
Heena Sidhu Women’s 25m pistol GOLD
Mehuli Ghosh Women’s 10m air rifle SILVER
Heena Sidhu Women’s 10m air pistol SILVER
Anjum Moudgil Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions SILVER
Tejaswini Sawant Women’s 50m Rifle prone SILVER
Om Mitharval Men’s 10m air pistol BRONZE
Om Mitharval Men’s 50m pistol BRONZE
Ravi Kumar Men’s 50m pistol BRONZE
Ankur Mittal Men’s trap shooting BRONZE
Apurvi Chandela Women’s 10m air rifle BRONZE


Players Event Medal
Dipika Pallikal / Saurav Ghosal Mixed doubles SILVER
Dipika Pallikal / Joshna Chinappa Women’s doubles SILVER

Table Tennis

Players Event Medal
Manika, Mouma, Madhurika, Pooja, Sutirta Women’s team GOLD
Sathiyan, Sharath, Harmeet, Sanil, Amalraj Men’s team GOLD
Manika Batra Women’s singles GOLD
Achanta Sharath Kamal /
Sathiyan G
Men’s doubles SILVER
Manika Batra / Mouma Das Women’s doubles SILVER
Harmeet Desai / Sanil Shetty Men’s doubles BRONZE
Achanta Sharath Kamal Men’s singles BRONZE
Manika Batra / Sathiyan G Mixed doubles BRONZE


Player Category Medal
Mirabai Chanu Women’s 48 kg GOLD
Sanjita Chanu Women’s 53 kg GOLD
Satish Kumar Sivalingam Men’s 77 kg GOLD
Venkat Ragul Ragala Men’s 85 kg GOLD
Punam Yadav Women’s 69 kg GOLD
Pardeep Singh Men’s 105 kg SILVER
Gururaja P Men’s 56 kg SILVER
Deepak Lather Men’s 69 kg BRONZE
Vikas Thakur Men’s 94 kg BRONZE


Player Category (All Freestyle) Medal
Sushil Kumar Men’s 74 kg GOLD
Rahul Aware Men’s 57 kg GOLD
Bajrang Punia Men’s 65 kg GOLD
Sumit Men’s 125 kg GOLD
Vinesh Phogat Women’s 50 kg GOLD
Mausam Khatri Men’s 97 kg SILVER
Babita Phogat Women’s 53 kg SILVER
Pooja Dhanda Women’s 57 kg SILVER
Somveer Men’s 86 kg BRONZE
Sakshi Malik Women’s 62 kg BRONZE
Divya Kakran Women’s 68 kg BRONZE
Kiran Women’s 76 kg BRONZE

IMPORTANT RECORDS in the Commonwealth Games – GOLDCOAST – 2018

  • # Gururaja P who won SILVER in the Men’s 56 Kg Weightlifting event became the 1st medal winner at the CWG for INDIA.
  • # Neeraj Chopra, achieved his season best in the final of the Javelin Throw event in the CWG 2018.
  • # In the Mixed Team event in Badminton, Saina Nehwal, P.V. Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, H.S Prannoy, Ruthvika, Ashwini, SIkki Reddy,SAtwik, Pranav,Chirag won the 1st ever GOLD for INDIA in a Badminton Event @ CWG.
  • #Satwiksairaj Rankireddy & Chirag Shetty won the 1st CWG Silver medal in Men’s Doubles Badminton.
  • # Mary Kom , the boxing sensation from India won her 1st ever CWG GOLD medal in the Women’s 46-48 Kg Category.
  • # Sachin Chaudhary became the only PARA ATHELETE to win a medal (won Bronze) in the Men’s Heavyweight Powerlifting event.
  • # Anish Bhanwala who won GOLD in the Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol became the YOUNGEST INDIAN to win a CWG medal and also created a CWG record.
  • # Manu Bhaker who won GOLD in the Women’s 10m air pistol became the 2nd Youngest INDIAN to win CWG medal
  • # Tejaswini Sawant who won SILVER in the Women’s 50m Rifle Prone is the Oldest medal winner for INDIA at the CWG 2018.
  • # Om Mitharval who won BRONZE in 50m Air Pistol & 10 air Pistol event became the 1st Double Medallist at the CWG this year. mixed
  • # Dipika Pallika & Saurav Ghosal won SILVER in the Mixed Doubles event in Squash and they achieved this feast as FIRST Mixed Doubles medal in Squash at CWG for INDIA.
  • # Babita Phogat won her 3rd CWG medal (HATTRICK)  and in this CWG she won Women’s 53Kg SILVER medal.
  • # Manik Batra won 4 medals in the TABLE TENNIS in Women’s Team event , Women’s Singles, Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles. She won a MEDAL in all the event she participated.
  • # Manik Batra & Mouma Das became the 1st Women’s Doubles TABLE TENNIS INDIAN pair to enter a Women’s Doubles Final, they won SILVER medal in the Women’s Doubles event.
  • # Manik Batra became the 1st Indian Woman to win a Singles Medal in the Table Tennis Event and that too a GOLD Medal in the TABLE TENNIS Women’s Singles @ CWG 2018.
  • # Sushil Kumar won the Men’s 74Kg GOLD medal in the Wrestling category and this is Sushil Kumar’s Hattrick GOLD medal in the consecutive CWG events.

 INDIA’s Medal Haul in Commonwealth Games 2018 – GOLDCOAST 2018 

 Medal Tally of Commonwealth Games 2018 – Rankings 





80 59 59 198
England 45 45 46



26 20 20 66
Canada 15 40 27


New Zealand 15 16 15 46

South Africa

13 11 13 37
Wales 10 12 14



9 13 22 44
Nigeria 9 9 6



8 1 5